Submit to DeliciousSubmit to DiggSubmit to FacebookSubmit to Google BookmarksSubmit to StumbleuponSubmit to TechnoratiSubmit to TwitterSubmit to LinkedIn



WASHINGTON, D.C.  (April 10, 2015) – Paul Feig will receive the “CinemaCon® Comedy Filmmaker of the Year Award” at this year’s CinemaCon, it was announced today by Mitch Neuhauser, Managing Director of CinemaCon. CinemaCon, the official convention of The National Association of Theatre Owners (NATO), will be held April 20 - 23, 2015 at Caesars Palace in Las Vegas. Feig will be presented with this special honor at the “CinemaCon Big Screen Achievement Awards” ceremony to take place on Thursday evening, April 23, in The Colosseum at Caesars Palace. The Coca-Cola Company, the official presenting sponsor of CinemaCon, will host the final night gala awards program.

“Come the end of CinemaCon 2015 we will have screened two of the funniest movies in recent memory, “The Heat” and “Spy,” both starring Melissa McCarthy, and both directed by Paul Feig, noted Neuhauser. “How lucky can you get? No one has his finger on the pulse of comedy better than Paul Feig. He simply never disappoints with his outrageously funny comedies and we’re thrilled that exhibitors will have this opportunity to say thank you."

On June 5, 2015, 20th Century Fox will release Feig’s latest project “Spy,” which he directed, produced and wrote via his production company Feigco Entertainment. Susan Cooper (Melissa McCarthy) is an unassuming, deskbound CIA analyst, and the unsung hero behind the Agency’s most dangerous missions. But when her partner (Jude Law) falls off the grid and another top agent (Jason Statham) is compromised, she volunteers to go deep undercover to infiltrate the world of a deadly arms dealer, and prevent a global disaster. The cast also includes Rose Byrne, Bobby Cannavale, Allison Janney, Curtis “50 Cent” Jackson, and Miranda Hart.

A graduate of the University of Southern California Film School, Feig is a multi-talented filmmaker, writer, producer and author. Feig is the director behind the hysterical hit films “The Heat” and “Bridesmaids.” A three-time EMMY nominated writer/director and DGA Award winner, Feig was the creator of the critically acclaimed series “Freaks and Geeks,” and he has directed multiple episodes of the hit television series “Arrested Development,” “The Office,” “Nurse Jackie,” “Bored to Death,” “Weeds,” “30 Rock,” “Mad Men.”

Feig’s upcoming projects include a series he created and executive produced for Yahoo Screen called “Other Space” launching April 14th, 2015 and a reboot of “Ghostbusters” with a female-led cast that will hit theaters in July 2016.

About CinemaCon

CinemaCon will attract upwards of 5,000 motion picture professionals from all facets of the industry –from exhibition and distribution, to the equipment and concession areas – all on hand to celebrate the movie-going experience and the cinema industry. From exclusive Hollywood product presentations highlighting a slate of upcoming films, to must-see premiere feature screenings, to the biggest stars, producers and directors, CinemaCon will help jumpstart the excitement and buzz that surrounds the summer season at the box office.

CinemaCon is delighted to have both the International Cinema Technology Association (ICTA) and National Association of Concessionaires (NAC) as its tradeshow partners. CinemaCon is also delighted to have as its official presenting sponsor, The Coca-Cola Company, one of the industry’s greatest and highly regarded and respected partners in the world of the movies.

About NATO

The National Association of Theatre Owners (NATO) is the largest exhibition trade organization in the world, representing more than 32,000 movie screens in all 50 states, and additional cinemas in 81 countries worldwide. NATO’s membership includes the largest cinema chains in the world and hundreds of independent theatre owners, too.

Additional information on CinemaCon can be found at